Skip navigation links
Skip navigation links
Newsdesk continues to deliver high standards of editorial and design.
Anthony Belchambers
Chief Executive
Futures and Options Association
With excellent collaboration between Newsdesk staff and the EBF communications unit and advisers, the publication is written with authority whilst being informative and engaging in its presentation. …
Florence Ranson
Senior Adviser, PR & Communications
European Banking Federation
Working with the high-performance staff of Newsdesk, we were able to produce a publication that is truly a collector's item.
Frederick Kempe
Chairman and CEO
Atlantic Council of the United States

Read more

Freedom's Challenge Awards Gala Dinner

Posted on 09/11/2009

Berlin: US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton delivered the keynote address at the US Atlantic Council Freedom's Challenge dinner and awards ceremony in Berlin on 8 November 2009. The event was created, co-hosted and co-managed by the Atlantic Council of the United States and Newsdesk Media to commemorate the 20th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall, and held at the German capital's prestigious Adlon Hotel, a short distance from the Brandenburg Gate where the Wall was first breached.

Secretary Clinton was honored with a Freedom Award on behalf of the people of the United States, while other award recipients included German Vice Chancellor Dr Guido Westerwelle, NATO's Supreme Allied Commander Europe, Admiral James Stavridis and the Mayor of Berlin, Klaus Wowereit. The evening, chaired by Atlantic Council President and CEO Fred Kempe, featured many high-profile guests including former Secretary of State Dr. Henry Kissinger, former Presidential national security advisors Brent Scowcroft and Zbigniew Brzezinski, Airbus President and CEO Thomas Enders and a host of diplomatic, business and financial leaders.

The dinner also featured the launch of a special commemorative publication, entitled Freedom's Challenge, to further mark the 20th anniversary of the fall of the Wall, with contributions from President Barack Obama, and former leaders George H.W. Bush, Helmut Kohl, Vaclav Havel and Margaret Thatcher.